My Chole Bhature Kahani

When I opened the packet bought by mom I was like “what type of roti is this?” That was an early 90s evening and the snack was surplus.

Though Chole Bhature was something rare to be in Assam, while I kept wondering which one is Chole and which one Bhatura. And most importantly, how come a roti transform into a Bhatura?

There were some Marwadi restaurants who used to prepare this snack but the guts to ask the people to ask which one is which never seem to tickle my spine.

Then, Delhi happened.

Initial years were just chow mein and more chow mein.. breakfast, lunch, dinner .. all was chow mein. I guess chow mien itself got bored with me. Thanks to that Aggarwal’s joint in Kidwai Nagar east. There was perhaps the first time I tasted the “Dilli” wala Chana/Chole Bhatua and they told me the who’s who too. They served me well.

And then Lajpat Nagar/Amar Colony happened.

Lajpat Nagar was not designed for people to ignore Chole Bhature. A heavy infested colony of Punjabis and Sindhis, this gated colony is a hub of Chole Bhature in Delhi and the top-class kitchens were undoubtedly in here, inside these Punjabi homes.
image image

It’s early morning and if you happen to be around Gupta Market, Old Double Storey, Amar Colony or back of the old Sapna cinema, you can get enticed by the people lined up and the aroma. The people who can mash one up into chole for some chole and an aroma so strong that you might want to swap your coaxed soul for some Punjabi Bhature with chana chole. Served with a chilled glass of Lassi, the hot Bhature can charge one’s vein till noon.

Not to forget the boiled potato piece which comes with the chole. Divine!

Tarla Dalal recipe: Chole Bhature recipe – Tarla Dalal.

How to make Chole Bhature:

 

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑